1. Women for Women Summit
  2. /
  3. Woman of Courage Award

The Woman of Courage Award is awarded to a woman who is a proven and impactful leader who has made a significant achievement in business, military or politics. It is awarded every year at the Women for Women Summit.

2023 Honoree, Anita Zucker

Anita Zucker

Anita Zucker is the Chair of The InterTech Group, Inc. (TIG), a privately held company founded by Anita and former husband, Jerry Zucker (OBM). She also served as the TIG CEO from 2008-2022. One of the largest private companies in the USA, TIG and its affiliates operate in a diverse array of industries, from aerospace and specialty chemicals to real estate and entertainment. Read More >>

Past Woman of Courage Award Recipients
2022 Honoree, Barbara L. Melvin

As Chief Operating Officer, Barbara Melvin oversees terminal operations, carrier sales, information technology and support services, crane and equipment maintenance, engineering, environmental, Port Police, procurement, the logistics solution center and cruise operations.

During her 20+ years with SCPA, Ms. Melvin has held several senior leadership positions, including Senior Vice President, Operations and Terminals, Senior Vice President, External Affairs, and Vice President, Government Relations. Read More >>

2020 Honoree, Ambassador Nikki Haley

Nikki Haley at the Women for Women Summit presented by the College of Charleston School of Business

Nikki R. Haley is the former United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations. She served as a member of President Donald Trump’s Cabinet and the National Security Council.

At the United Nations, Ambassador Haley ensured the American people saw value for their investment, introducing reforms that made the organization more efficient, transparent and accountable. Read More >>